1. Help Topics
  2. Record
  3. How to…Create and Edit an Opportunity

How to…Create and Edit an Opportunity

To Create an Opportunity, search for the account you wish to add the opportunity to. Select the Opportunity tab on the Record Card.

Add an opportunity to this account by pushing the plus icon and then completing the form below.

Once you have added an opportunity, you can add additional comments to it, link a product to the opportunity, view any activities relating to this opportunity and change any contact roles relating to the opportunity.

To add a comment on an opportunity, dial down the opportunity by clicking the arrow icon , click into the comments box – write your comment and push Enter.

The comment will appear in a dated list.

If you would like to link a product to your opportunity, start typing your product into the field (or press space to bring up a list of all products available). Select the one you want, click the plus icon  and it will appear in your linked products section.

 

Any Activities related to this opportunity will appear in the Activity area at the bottom.

You can Add Contact Roles to this opportunity, for example if you have a Sales Manager listed as a contact on this account and they are the main decision maker for this opportunity, you can add this to your Contact Roles section. Simply click on the plus icon  next to Contact Roles.

A pop-up will appear, select the contact you wish to add and click Add

You can click in the role box and add your own role such as ‘Decision Maker’, click out of the box and this will be saved against your opportunity.

Your Opportunities will be shown at the top of the Opportunity tab and they will also by shown in your Activity Feed. In order to edit your opportunity, click on the name of the opportunity and it will ‘dial down’ to display it.

To edit the main details of the opportunity, click the pencil icon  in the top right. The popup will allow you to edit the details and update the progress of the opportunity.

Should you wish to mark the opportunity as Won or Lost, click on the buttons Won or LostBuddyCRM will update your details and your opportunity will appear as a closed opportunity on your Opportunity Tab. A tick or cross will display next to the opportunity to indicate won or lost respectively.

You can continue to edit details in the closed opportunity by clicking the name of the opportunity and pushing the edit button . The opportunity can also be re-opened if required by clicking the re-open button.

Updated on June 19, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles